PMBoK V5 and PMBoKV6: 10 major changes you should know

PMBoK V5 and PMBoKV6: 10 major changes you should know

Heraclitus: “Change is the only constant”
Project management is a dynamic field that changes with expectations and needs. The Project Management Institute ( PMI), a leading American institute, sets industry standards in the field of project management. It is known for its “A guide to Project Management Body Of Knowledge – PMBOK GUIDE” which provides a guide to project management. PMI reviews the PMBOK GUIDE and updates it every 4 to 5 year.
PMBOK 6th Edition was released on 6 September 2017. This PMI publication is the most recent version of PMBOK Guidance. Both PMBOK V6 has attracted interest from both professionals and aspirants to PMI certifications. People are curious to learn more about the changes and how they would affect the certification.
This article summarizes the top 10 differences between PMBOK (r)Guide 5th Edition and 6th Edition.
1. Changes in knowledge areas:
There is no expansion of knowledge areas. Many knowledge areas are the same. However, two knowledge areas have their names modified to better reflect what they are.
Project Time Management is now Project Schedule Management. It is the schedule we manage, not the time.

Project Resource Management now replaces Human Resource Management. This is to indicate that we manage both physical and team resources.

Process Groups are not changing. The process groups Initiating to Closing, Planning, Executing and Monitoring & Controlling are still in existence
2. Processes are changing:
a)Additional Processes: Three new processes have been added
New process names
Process Group
Knowledge Area
Manage Project Knowledge
Project Integration Management
Control your resources
Monitoring & Controlling
Project ResourceManagement
Implement risk response
Project Risk Management
b) Process Shift – One process has moved among the knowledge areas (no changes in Process group though).
Name of the process
Knowledge Area (PMBOK V5)
Knowledge Area (PMBOK V6)
Estimate Activities Resources
Project Time Management
Project Resource Management
c) Renamed Processes: Nine processes were renamed as follows:
Old name
New name
Control communication
Monitor communication
Take control of your risk
Monitor Risk
Control stakeholder engagement
Monitor stakeholder engagement
Perform Quality Assurance
Quality Management
Plan Human Resources Management
Plan Resource Management
Plan Stakeholder Management
Plan Stakeholder Engagement
Acquire Project Team
Acquire Resources
Create a Project Team
Develop a Team
Manage Project Team
Manage your team
d) Process Deletion
PMBOK v6 has removed Close Procurement. In reality, the project manager plays a minimal role in this process. Instead, the procurement manager and legal team handle it.
The PMBOK(c), Guide 6th Edition contains 49 processes, compared to the 47 processes in its 5th Edition.
3. Chapter addition:
The PMBOK (r), guide 6th edition has a new chapter (Chapter No. 3) on Role as Project Manager, which addresses the skills required by organizations. This aligns with the PMI Talent Triangle, which was introduced in 2016, and mandates 3 levels in skill sets.
A) Technical
b) Strategic & Business Management
c) Leadership from project managers
To understand the importance and role of project managers, the first three chapters have been rewritten. They

Related Posts

Palo Alto Networks Certified Network Security Agent (PCNSA) – This 97-video training by SPOTO trainer Keith Barker teaches security professionals the knowledge they need to create next generation security platforms and architectures, security policies, filtering, network monitoring, and security policies. The Palo Alto Networks Certified Network Security Administrator certification was created for security professionals as well as customers, value-added resellers, system engineers, system integrators, and system administrators. Our PCNSA training will give you the latest tools to protect networks against emerging cyber threats. It also explains in detail the core features and functions Palo Alto Networks next generation firewalls. This 15-part series covers topics like next-generation Security Platform and Architecture and firewall Configuration. Security and NAT Policies are also covered. You can watch a video of the series. The skills include: Palo Alto Firewall Lab, EVE-NG Palo Alto Security Policy Fundamentals Palo Alto Source NAT & DHCP Palo Alto Security policy Fundamentals Palo Alto Virtual Wire Interfaces Palo Alto App ID Palo Alto SSL/TLS Encryption Palo Alto Site to Site VPNs Palo Alto User -ID Training includes: 12 hours of training and 97 videos. Get started learning Palo Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto-to-to-to-to-to-to-to-ID Intro Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alo Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto Alto 97 videos Download

New Course: Palo Alto Networks Certified Security Entry-level Technician (PCCET). In this 36-video training, SPOTO trainer Keith Barker teaches security technicians the fundamental cybersecurity concepts, network security, cloud security concepts, as well as how to apply those concepts in a security technician role. This Palo Alto training is now available. It takes so much technical knowledge to keep devices and networks secure and safe that it can take a lifetime to master. But you must start somewhere. Palo Alto’s Certified Cybersecurity Entry-level Techniec certification was created with this in mind. Although the PCCET is thorough and comprehensive, it’s also designed for those who are just starting to study cybersecurity. The PCCET preparation is a great way to start learning about how devices, networks and clouds are kept secure digitally. You’ll also receive a certification from Palo alto, which can be a great career move. This 10-part series covers topics like cybersecurity basics, understanding interconnected networks, protocols, hubs and switches, and how to navigate various cloud technologies and their implementations. Watch a video of the series: This series includes: Network Security Fundamentals IP addressing Network Model Palo Alto Next gen Firewall Features Cyberattack Lifecycle Vulnerabilities Exploits and Risk Cloud Computing Security Strategies for Securing Networks Palo Alto SecOps SecOps The training includes: 3 hours of training 36 videos. Learn Palo Alto today Download