PMBOK 6th edition – Release Date + Modifications

PMI (Project Management Institute), releases a new PMBOK(r), (Project Management Book Of Knowledge) approximately every 4-5 years. The third quarter of 2017 is the date for the next PMBOK(r), 6th Edition release. You can see the video below to see the changes between the 5th and 6th editions.

Why is the PMBOK(r), need to be updated?
The ANSI (American National Standards Institute) has recognized the PMBOK(r). To maintain this recognition, the PMBOK (r) must be updated every four years to reflect industry changes.
PMI proposes that the PMBOK(r), in this revision, be closer aligned with ISO standards.
Which revision state is PMI currently in?
PMI released the PMBOK(r), 6th Edition in March 2016 to get feedback and comments from project managers. If you are a PMI member, you can submit your feedback. The PMBOK(r), 6th Edition will be published in mid 2017.
What are the proposed changes to the law?
1) Alignment with Process Groups rather than Knowledge Areas
The PMBOK(r), 5th Edition is divided based upon the 10 Knowledge Areas. However, the 6th edition proposed will be divided by 5 Process Groups.
This is consistent with the results of the RDS (Role Delineation Study), which PMI conducts every 3 to 5 years.
2) No new Knowledge Areas or Process Groups were created
The PMBOK(r), 6th edition will still have 5 process groups and 10 knowledge zones.
3) Chapters 1, 2, and 3 of the PMBOK (r) are combined
The first three chapters on the interpersonal skills and organizational skills of project managers will be combined.
4) Three new processes will be added
The PMBOK(r) will now include 3 new processes:
2) 2 processes that could be deleted
Close Procurements will be merged with the Close Project or Phase process.
Estimate Activities Resources to be used in conjunction with the Estimate Durations process.

6) Human resource management is transformed to resource management
7) Time management is transformed to schedule management
8) Name changes to existing processes
The following chart shows both the current name in the 5th Edition and the proposed name change to PMBOK(r), 6th Edition.
9) PMBOK(r), size reduced (at least right now).
The PMBOK(r), 6th edition, is only 1/4 the size as the PMBOK (r) 5th edition. The 6th edition currently contains 10 chapters and 84 pages, whereas the 5th edition had 13 and 415 pages.
The 5th edition was very detailed about ITTOs (Inputs Tools & Techniques, Outputs), but the 6th edition focuses on the ITTOs at a high-level.
PMI will likely continue to add content to the PMBOK(r) between now and the release of the 6th Edition.
10) A new chapter has been added to the Talent Triangle (read more).
11) Modifications to Project Management Plan or Project Documents components
Instead of using Project Management Plan and Project Documents as a single term, PMI identifies the components of these assets.
Project Management Plan and Project Documents are inputs to processes. Project Management Plan Updates, Project Documents Updates, and Project Management Plan Changes are outputs to those processes.

What should you do?
The PMP(r), which is a new version of the PMBOK(r), tends to get harder with each release. It is mid 2016. This means that you still have more time than a year before the PMBOK (r) changes.
Instead of worrying about the changes to PMP(r), I recommend getting certified before PMBOK(r), 6th Edition is published. Register here to receive a complimentary class from ExamsPM.
To download a PDF version, enter your email below

Parting Comments
We don’t know if any of these changes will happen, as the PMBOK(r), 6th edition, was not available to us.
It is unlikely that the PMBOK(r), 6th edition will exceed 84 pages. In fact, it is quite possible that the PMBOK(r) 6th edition will remain at 84 pages.

Related Posts